What's the difference between "Allowed to Use Monitors" and "Not Allowed to Use Monitors" in the server document?
These settings have a similar end result, but are two different ways of specifying who can use server monitors.
With the first parameter, you include a list of specific people who can use monitors. If you list no one, then no one can use them. (That is why the default setting is *.)
With the second parameter, you include a list of specific people who CANNOT use monitors.
So, if you have 500 people in your company, and only 2 of them are allowed to use monitors, list those 2 people in the "allow" field. If, on the other hand, you have 500 people and all but 2 of them are allowed to use monitors, list those 2 people in the "not allow" field.
This was first published in October 2001