How to avoid losing synch between AD and Notes when LAN logon is reset
If a user forgets their LAN logon (for Active Directory), therefore requiring it to be reset, you then lose the Lotus Notes single logon synchronization with Active Directory. Is there a workaround for this besides the Lotus Notes backup ID file copied to the user's workstation?
Administration is really not my best subject, but let's see. If they were using single logon and they forgot their LAN logon, then they also forgot their Notes password. Without this password, they will be unable to get into Notes -- that's what a password is for. If there were a way to get into Notes without the right password, then people could use it to break Notes security. So, no, I don't see any way around giving them a new copy of their ID file with a known password. But as the administrator, can't you reset the password on the replacement ID file you supply them to be the same as the LAN logon you just reset?
This was first published in February 2005