- Open the "VPUserinfo.nsf" database located on your Lotus Sametime server and locate the record for your user.
- Check to see that there is only one instance of this user in the Sametime VPUserInfo database.
I have seen instances where even though the records should be stored in canonical format, a user has had multiple Lotus Sametime records that confuse who is actually logging in, and what their individual settings are.
- Delete the record(s) for this user. I should warn you though that, there is a side effect -- the user will lose the buddy list they have created.
- Log the user into your Lotus Sametime server through the Sametime Connect client or Browser Connect client. The user should have a new (blank) buddy list.
- Check the user's Lotus Sametime configuration by choosing the "Options" menu, and then "Who can see if I am online."
- Make sure the setting is "Everybody can see if I am online." Add a new person or group to the Sametime buddy list, and then check to make sure the user can chat normally.
Do you have comments on this Ask the Expert Q&A? Let us know.
Related information from SearchDomino.com:
This was first published in March 2007