Tutorial

How to delete Lotus Notes groups and users from the Domino Directory

The following is tip #4 from "Managing Lotus Notes and Domino users and groups -- 10 tips in 10 minutes," excerpted from Chapter 15 of the book Lotus Notes and Domino 6 System Administrator Exam Cram 2, published by Sams Publishing.


Deleting Groups

Groups can be deleted from the Domino Directory, but only after the administrator has taken the proper steps to prepare for the deletion. Deleting a group can have extremely detrimental effects on the domain, as server and user access will change based on the group deletion. Make sure that all domain administrators and users are prepared for the deletion of the group by sending an email to the affected users before the group is deleted.

Deleting a group requires an administrator to have the following access:

Author access with the ability to delete documents and the GroupModifier role
Or
Editor access to the Directory

To delete a group, follow these steps:

  1. Launch the Domino Administrator and select the People & Groups tab. Click Groups and select the group to be deleted; a Delete Group dialog box appears.

  2. Choose from these options in the Delete Group dialog box:

    • Delete Group's Windows NT/2000 Accounts, if Existing.
    • Delete Groups from This Domino Directory Immediately.

  3. After selecting either of these options, click OK to delete the group.

Deleting Users

Deleting a user requires an administrator to have the following access:

Author access with the Create Documents access to the certification log
And
Author access with the ability to delete documents and the UserModifier role assigned
Or
Editor access to the Domino Directory

The following steps should be taken to delete a user from the Domino Directory:

  1. Launch the Domino Administrator and select the People & Groups tab. Click People and select the user to be deleted.

  2. Select People from the Tools pane and choose Delete. The Delete Person dialog box appears, prompting you to choose an option to determine what should happen to the user's mail database. The available options are

    • Do Not Delete the Database
    • Delete the Mail Database on the User's Home Server
    • Add Deleted Users to Deny Access Group (optional)
    • Delete User's Windows NT/2000 Accounts, if Existing
    • Delete Users from This Domino Directory Immediately

  3. Complete the required selections and click OK to delete the user.


Managing Lotus Notes and Domino users and groups

 Home: Introduction
 Tip 1: How to change a Lotus Notes user's group membership
 Tip 2: How to move the Lotus Notes user's location in the Domino hierarchy
 Tip 3: How to change a Lotus Notes user's name in the Domino Directory
 Tip 4: How to delete Lotus Notes groups and users from Domino Directory
 Tip 5: How to extend the expiration date on a Lotus Notes User ID
 Tip 6: How to manage Lotus Notes groups with the Manage Groups tool
 Tip 7: How to modify Lotus Notes and Domino Person documents
 Tip 8: How to move a Lotus Notes user's mail file
 Tip 9: How to rename Lotus Notes groups
 Tip 10: How to set up Lotus Notes and Domino roaming users


This chapter excerpt from Lotus Notes and Domino 6 System Administrator Exam Cram 2, by Karen Fishwick and Tony Aveyard, is printed with permission from Sams Publishing, Copyright 2005. Click here for the chapter download.

This was first published in September 2006

There are Comments. Add yours.

 
TIP: Want to include a code block in your comment? Use <pre> or <code> tags around the desired text. Ex: <code>insert code</code>

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
Sort by: OldestNewest

Forgot Password?

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an email containing your password.

Your password has been sent to: