Why is mailed routed differently between a connected and disconnected client? All of my mobile users have local replicas of the Domino Directory, as well as Personal Address Books. If you are connected and address a group, that group is submitted to the server as a group, and you DO NOT receive a copy of the mail. If you are disconnected, and address a group that you are a member of, the group is expanded into users, you are listed and you receive a copy. My first question is why does Notes / Domino behave differently when submitting mail from a disconnected client to the outgoing mail box, and submitting mail to the server for routing?
More importantly, mail appears to be deleted from the mail db during replication. For example: Address a group that you are a member of in a disconnected state. Submit it for delivery. Change to a connected location. Yes, send pending outgoing mail. Check your local replica - it appears in the Sent Folder. Check your Server db, it appears in the Inbox. Replication has not occured yet. Replicate. Mail is removed from the Sent Folder. The user then deletes the mail from the Inbox, that he sent. Now there is NO record of the mail, anywhere. Why, why, why? I can only duplicate this when you are a member of the group and send it from a disconnected state. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. We are running in a 5.0.8 environment.
When sending mail disconnected and the user has the group and the people in their personal address book or copy of directory assistance, groups must be expanded so that it can determine if each of the recipients can be delivered to. If you are addressing directly on the network, the group stays together all the way through to the recipients inbox. This is expected behavior.
Dig Deeper on Domino Resources
Have a question for an expert?
Please add a title for your question
Get answers from a TechTarget expert on whatever's puzzling you.